Why me?

Grace for my Heart

It’s Narcissist Friday!  

What was there about me that attracted the narcissist?

What weakness or brokenness did he/she see in me?

What did I do wrong?

Is there a sign on my forehead saying, “Here I am, ruin my life”?

These are normal questions from those who have found themselves in narcissistic relationships. In the midst of their struggle, they want to know why the door was open in the first place. They want to know if they should blame themselves.

If you read the literature, you will find references to schemas and schema therapy. We all develop ways of handling life, particularly the parts that hurt us. Schemas are simply the categories of those coping methods. Some hide, some react in anger, some blame, some deny. These are ways of coping that we learned as we grew up. Some call them schemas or other psychological terms; in my…

View original post 680 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

